[ Star Wars Books ]

[Star Wars Books RSS Feed][Star Wars Books Twitter][Like Star Wars Books on Facebook]

Page updated: 12th March 2008 www.swbooks.net/legends
[A Guide to using Star Wars Books]
[Articles and Features]
[Release Schedule]
[The Old Republic]
[Rise of the Empire]
[The Clone Wars]
[The Rebellion]
[The New Republic]
[The New Jedi Order]
[The Legacy of the Force]
[Fate of the Jedi]
[Infinities Books]
[Book Reviews]
[Children's Books]
[Audio Books]
[Site Updates]
[Contact Us]
[] Bookmark and Share

[Star Wars Legends]
 Star Wars Legends: Eras of Adventure

Star Wars Legends stories cover a timeframe that stretches back to more than 25,000 years before the Battle of Yavin (the events portrayed in the original 1977 Star Wars film: Episode IV: A New Hope) and up to 140 years after it. So to make it easier to place a story's chronological setting in 2000 LucasBooks introduced the Eras of Adventure. This divided the timeframe into seven distinct periods, thus every Legends story, whether book, comic, short story or other, could be placed as occurring during one of seven Eras of Adventure:

[ The Pre-Republic ]

Before The Republic
Events occurring between 37,000 and 25,000 years before the Battle of Yavin

This is the mythical age of the Jediís origin: before there were lightsabers, when the ties to the Force were new, and before the Jedi spread out into the galaxy.
The Dawn of the Jedi series takes place during this era.

[ The Old Republic ]

The Old Republic
Events occurring between 5,000 and 67 years before the Battle of Yavin
The Old Republic was the legendary government that united a galaxy under the rule of the senate. In this era, the Jedi are numerous, and serve as guardians of peace and justice.
The Tales of the Jedi and Knights of the Old Republic comic series takes place in this era, chronicling the immense wars fought by the Jedi of old and the ancient Sith.

[ Rise of the Empire ]

Rise of the Empire
Events occurring between 67 years 2 years before the Battle of Yavin
After the seemingly final defeat of the Sith, the Republic enters a state of complacency. In the waning years of the Republic, the senate was rife with corruption and scandal, and saddled with a bureaucracy so immense that effective governing was nearly impossible. The ambitious Senator Palpatine caused himself to be elected Supreme Chancellor, and promised to reunite the galaxy under a New Order. It is during this time that the events of The Phantom Menace, Attack of the Clones, The Clone Wars and Revenge of the Sith occur.

[ The Rebellion ]

The Rebellion
Events occurring from 2 years before and up to 5 years after the Battle of Yavin
An outcry of resistance begins to spread across the galaxy in protest to the new Empire's tyranny. Cells of Rebellion fight back, and the Galactic Civil War begins.
This era begins with the formal declaration of the birth of the Rebel Alliance on Corellia and Kashyyyk and ends a year after the death of the Emperor high over the forest moon of Endor. The Rebellion starts to reform itself into a body of government, first as the Alliance of Free Planets, and later the New Republic. It is during this time that the events of A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi occur.

[ The New Republic ]

The New Republic
Events occurring between 5 and 25 years after the Battle of Yavin
Having defeated the Empire at the Battle of Endor, the Rebel Alliance must now transform itself from a militant resistance force into a functioning galactic government. As Imperial territory is reclaimed, the New Republic suffers growing pains, having to fend off insurrections. Imperial loyalists, and wayward warlords. Also, Luke Skywalker, the last of the Jedi, begins training apprentices, rebuilding the Jedi order.

[ The New Jedi Order ]

The New Jedi Order
Events occurring between 25 and 40 years after the Battle of Yavin
The Jedi Knights are now a hundred strong. The New Republic has signed a peace treaty with what little remains of the Empire. The galaxy is finally enjoying a peaceful respite from decades of war. It's at this time that a horrible alien menace invades the Republic from beyond known space. The Yuuzhan Vong lay waste to entire worlds in their scourge of the galaxy.
The Invasion comic book series takes place in this era.

[ Legacy of the Force ]

Legacy of the Force
Events occurring 40 years after the Battle of Yavin
This is the era of Luke Skywalker's legacy: the Jedi Master has unified the order into a cohesive group of powerful Jedi Knights. But as the new era begins, planetary interests threaten to disrupt this time of relative peace, and Luke is plagued with visions of an approaching darkness. Evil is rising again and it looks as if the legacy of the Skywalkers may come full circle.
Both the Fate of the Jedi book series and Legacy comic book series occur during this era.

If you would like to find out which Legends stories feature the further adventures of Luke, Han, Leia and Chewbacca after Return of the Jedi, you should start at the end of The Rebellion and beginning of The New Republic Eras, whilst to learn about Obi-Wan and Anakin's exploits leading up to Revenge of the Sith, you should consult the Rise of the Empire Era.
Alternatively you can explore our Timeline for each of the above Eras to include short stories and other stories. Or you use our search facility.
In addition, there are entries for books classed as Infinities (events outside the timeline), our guide to a selection of non-fiction Reference Books, a Book & Comics Release Schedule, as well as Book and Comic Reviews.
Further information is available in our Suggested Reading guide.
We appreciate your visit and if you have any comments or suggestions please contact us.


[ www.swbooks.co.uk ]

Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | Contact | Print this page